Frequent Asked Questions

Q: What is gluten?

A:

Gluten refers to the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley. The consumption of gluten in these products adversely affects the health of those with celiac disease and gluten intolerance.

Q: What is celiac disease?

A:

Celiac disease is a digestive and autoimmune disorder that is triggered by eating gluten. When gluten containing foods are consumed, damage occurs to the lining of the small intestine, making it difficult for the body to absorb nutrients. It is estimated that around 3 million or 1 out of every 133 people in the United States have celiac disease. There is no cure for celiac disease, but the condition can be managed with diet by removing all gluten containing foods.

Q: Who follows gluten free diets and what are the benefits?

A:

For people with celiac disease, the only way to manage the condition is to follow a gluten-free diet. Through adherence to a gluten-free diet, the small intestine will begin to heal and the overall health of the affected individual should improve.

Gluten-free diets may also be followed by those who feel their overall health improves when avoiding gluten laden foods.

Q: How do San-J products fit into a gluten free diet?

A:

Since most ordinary soy sauces contain around 50% wheat, they are typically off-limits for those following a gluten free diet. However, San-J Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce is naturally gluten free because it is made with 100% soybeans and no wheat, giving it a rich, smooth taste and making it ideal for those following a gluten free diet. San-J is the only manufacturer that produces certified gluten-free Tamari in the United States. All San-J gluten-free products are also certified gluten free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.

Q: Are San-J gluten free products certified gluten free?

A:

Yes. All San-J Gluten Free products are made in a plant inspected and certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. Look for GF symbol on San-J gluten free products. For more information on this group, please visit their website at www.gfco.org.

Q: Which San-J products are certified gluten free?

A:

The following San-J products are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization:

Tamari Soy Sauce:

  • Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce (Black Label)
  • Tamari Gluten Free Reduced Sodium Soy Sauce (White Label)
  • Tamari Lite 50% Less Sodium Gluten Free Soy Sauce (Green Label)
  • Organic Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce (Gold Label)
  • Organic Tamari Gluten Free Reduced Sodium Soy Sauce (Platinum Label)

Asian Cooking Sauces:

  • Thai Peanut /Szechuan /Teriyaki / Sweet & Tangy / Asian BBQ / Orange Sauce / Mongolian

Asian Salad Dressings:

  • Tamari Sesame / Tamari Peanut / Tamari Ginger

Brown Rice Crackers:

  • Tamari Plain/ Tamari Black Sesame / Tamari Brown Sesame / Teriyaki Sesame

Japanese Instant Soups:

  • White Miso / Wakame

Q: What steps does San-J take for gluten free products?

A:

San-J does not add any gluten ingredients to San-J gluten free products. We understand the sensitive nature that exists for those who suffer from gluten intolerance or Celiac Disease. Since our facilities processes other products containing wheat, San-J has implemented specific sanitation methods in an effort to prevent cross contamination of wheat in our gluten free products. In addition, we test each batch of gluten free products for the presence of gluten. Samples are also periodically sent to an outside laboratory as means of confirming the reliability of our tests.
The FDA regulation sets a threshold for gluten of less than 20 parts per million in foods that are labeled "gluten-free," “no gluten,” “free of gluten,” and “without gluten.” San-J gluten free products are certified gluten free by the Gluten Free Certification Organization and we follow their guidelines of less than 10 ppm. All San-J Tamari Soy Sauces are tested at less than 5ppm.